Overview of Host Pools Session Time Limits

Overview of Host Pools Session Time Limits

Nerdio Manager allows you to apply host session limits to individual host pools at the host pool level. This enables you to:

  • Optimize your AVD deployment and auto-scaling.

  • Conserve resources by signing out users who leave their sessions open or leave themselves in a disconnected state.

Note: By default, the session time limits option is disabled. Session time limits do not apply, and the system accepts any changes that users make to a single image or through the group policy.

To set the user session time limits for full desktops:

  1. At the Account level, navigate to AVD > Host Pools.

  2. Locate the host pool you want to work with.

  3. From the action menu, select PropertiesSession time limits.

  4. Enter the following information:

    • Enable user session time limits: Toggle this option On.

    • Log off Disconnected sessions after: From the drop-down list, select the time to sign out disconnected users.

      Note: By default, users can disconnect from an AVD session without signing out and ending the session. When a session is in a disconnected state, running programs are kept active even though the user is no longer actively connected. By default, these disconnected sessions are maintained for an unlimited time on the server.

      If you enable this policy setting, disconnected sessions are deleted from the server after the specified amount of time. To enforce the default behavior that disconnected sessions are maintained for an unlimited time, select Never. If you have a console session, disconnected session time limits do not apply.

    • Disconnect Idle sessions after:: From the drop-down list, select the maximum amount of time that an active session can be idle (without user input) before it is automatically disconnected.

      Note: If you enable this policy setting, the idle session is disconnected after the specified amount of time. The user receives a warning two minutes before the session disconnects, which allows the user to press a key or move the mouse to keep the session active. If you have a console session, idle session time limits do not apply.

    • Disconnect Active sessions after: From the drop-down list, select the maximum amount of time that a session can be active before it is automatically disconnected. The recommended setting: Not configured.

      Note: If you enable this policy setting, active sessions are automatically disconnected after the specified amount of time. The user receives a warning two minutes before the session disconnects, which allows the user to save open files and close programs. If you have a console session, active session time limits do not apply.

    • Log off, instead of disconnecting, idle and active sessions: From the drop-down list, select the option to specify whether to end an active or idle session that has timed out instead of disconnecting it.

      Note: You can use this setting to sign out a session after time limits for active or idle sessions are reached. By default, sessions are disconnected (not signed out) when they reach their time limits.

      If you disable this policy setting, idle and active sessions that reach their time limit are disconnected even if specified otherwise by the server administrator.

      This policy setting only applies to time-out limits that are explicitly set by the administrator. This policy setting does not apply to time-out events that occur due to connectivity or network conditions.

    • Apply to existing hosts: Select this option to apply the modified session time limits to existing hosts.

      • Restart VMs: Select this option to restart session host VMs after updating session timeouts.

      • Process Host in Groups Of: Type the number of concurrent operations when applying the change.

      • Number of failures before aborting: Type the number of failed tasks before the process stops.

      • Messaging: Toggle on this option to send a message to all users on a session host before performing the operation.

        • Delay: From the drop-down list, select the number of minutes to wait after sending the message before starting the process.
        • Message:Type the message you want to send to the users.

  5. Once you have entered all the desired information, select Save or Save & close.

Was this article helpful?

0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments (0 comments)

Please sign in to leave a comment.