Remove Autoscale visibility from delegated customer access/Role-based access

I would like to request a method to hide the Auto-scale button and or the "Estimated Monthly Savings" view from RBAC when I try to delegate access to a client. I managed to build out exactly what I wanted a client's IT to see the other day but had to stop becasue I could not hide the Auto-scale button from them. I was able to hide the top level savings but if you click on the drop down menu and go into auto-scale settings, you can still see the esimated monthly savings. Seems like a good way to get unnecessery questions :P

2

Comments (4 comments)

Avatar
Dave Stephenson

Welcome to the community, Andrew Edwards 🙂!

Great find/catch.
I can see why we'd want to hide that cost savings from certain roles, especially customer users like you mentioned.

1
Avatar
Andrew Edwards
(Edited )

Thanks! I think the best option would be to hide auto-scale button completely if possible. It took a bit of playing with to get the autoscale going to begin with and I would not want anyone but myself or someone at my company touching it. Ideally, both would be an option (hiding savings or the button) but it may be easier to just hide the whole button. 

0
Avatar
Dave Stephenson

Hmm, I don't know if we'd want to have the button hidden.
I believe there is already an RBAC permission to hide autoscale completely, but if you're giving a customer access to Nerdio, they're likely going to need to enable/disable autoscale if there's an issue.
But, it all depends on your situation and use case. 🤔

If you're worried about someone changing the autoscale settings, you might be able to set up an approval for that kind of a situation.

 

0
Avatar
Andrew Edwards

Ah. Next best option would be hiding the savings inside the auto-scale window then. Our use case is the client has a program that updates at random times and shuts the company down until it is updated. Ive contacted the vendor for an update schedule but was told to kick rocks. So the next best solution weve come up with was giving the user hostnames and IP's to remote to and update the program themselves. The issue we ran into is autoscale shut down the hosts the other day, as intended but the client could not get in to update them after hours. I was hoping to give them access to power on and reboot machines and not much else. I had it built out but I cannot have them asking about the savings if they get curious and start poking around the options. I ended up changing the autoscale-in settings to turn them off at a later time and told the client they have until 10pm to get it done each day, otherwise they will have to contact us. 

0

Please sign in to leave a comment.